Transferring an existing domain involves changing the registrar that handles the registration service, so after the transfer, you will have to manage things like renewal payments or DNS resource record modifications through the new registrar. The transfer procedure is standard with most TLD extensions. Some country-code extensions are more specific and involve different procedures, but in the general case transferring a domain involves a few necessary steps and one of them is unlocking the domain. The lock is a security feature, which is being embraced by more and more registry operators. It’s a default feature supported by all generic top-level domain names. If a domain is locked, it won’t be possible to initiate a transfer procedure, so nobody can even attempt to take your domain name. The domain lock can be annulled only through the account where the domain name is registered in the first place and all new domain names that support this option are locked by default the moment they are registered.

Registrar Lock in Hosting

If you purchase a hosting from our company, you will be able to administer all domain names registered through us via our Hepsia Control Panel and you will be able to unlock any of them with just a few clicks of the mouse. All registrations will be listed in alphabetical order in the Domain Manager section of the Control Panel and for each one of them you’ll see a small padlock logo. Clicking on it will show you the current security lock status. If the domain name is locked and you’d like to transfer it, you’ll just need to click for the second time and you’ll be all set. Locking a domain name is just as easy and since the domain names are managed in the same location as the web hosting account itself, you will not have to sign in and out of different admin consoles.